Shaheen Afridi
Shaheen Afridi. Image: Twitter

Pakistan pacer Shaheen Afridi became the youngest captain to lead the team to the title in a major T20 league across the globe after Lahore Qalandar’s maiden PSL title. On Sunday, Lahore Qalandars thrashed Mohammad Rizwan-led Multan Sultans by 42 runs in the PSL 2022 final at the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore.

Lahore were reduced to 25 for three in 4.2 overs before veteran all-rounder Mohammad Hafeez jumped in the foray with his fiery 46-ball 69 that included nine boundaries and a six at a strike rate of 150. Hafeez was involved in a partnership of 58 runs with England youngster Harry Brook, who remained unbeaten on 41 off 22 balls.

PSL 2022: Lahore Qalandars lift their maiden title

Lahore Qalandars
Lahore Qalandars emerged champions of PSL 2022 after defeating Multan Sultans by 42 runs in the final. Image: Lahore Qalandars/Twitter

Hafeez’s spectacular innings was brought to an end by Shahnawaz Dahani in the 18th over as the batter handed one in the hands of Shan Masood at the extra cover region. Namibia all-rounder David Wiese took the Multan Sultans bowlers to cleaners as he clobbered three sixes and a four in the last two overs to score 28 off eight balls, the exact figures he smashed in the Eliminator fixture against Islamabad United.

PSL 2022: Shaheen Afridi Beats Steve Smith And Rohit Sharma In This Remarkable Achievement
Mohammad Hafeez
Mohammad Hafeez. Image: Twitter

Wiese’s late firing propelled Lahore to a sublime score of 180/5 in the first innings. Hafeez carried his great run in the game as he crashed the gates of Multan Sultans skipper Rizwan before he could do any damage. After Rizwan’s departure, the defending champions stuttered to 63/5 inside 11 overs.

Although Tim David (27) and Khushdil Shah (32) stitched a 51-run stand for the sixth wicket to give faint hopes to stay in the game the asking rate went above 17 and Multan Sultans couldn’t make any case of their come back in the game. Afridi bowled with the figures of 3/30 from his four overs in the PSL 2022 final.

It’s a great achievement: Shaheen Afridi

In his maiden season of Lahore Qalandars skipper, Afridi, 21, not only led the side to the title win but also leapfrogged the likes of Steve Smith and Rohit Sharma to become the youngest captain to win the title. Smith won with Sydney Sixers in BBL 2011-12 when the Australian was at the age of 22 while Rohit led Mumbai Indians to its first IPL title in 2013 when he was 26.

“It’s a great achievement. We have been waiting for 6 years and I want to thank the Lahore crowd. They have come out in numbers and supported us throughout.

“A lot of people supported me, Hafeez guided me a lot during pressure moments so thanks to all who supported me. The fight we showed as a team throughout the tournament is really fantastic and we had that attitude to fight till the last ball,” Afridi said in the post-match presentation.

Rizwan was the adjudged player of the tournament as he ended as the second most leading run-scorer with 546 runs from 12 innings behind Lahore’s Fakhar Zaman (588).

Also Read: PSL 2022: Rashid Khan Rubbishes Reports Of Participation In The Final