India vs Sri Lanka Preview- Sri Lanka Tour of India 2022, 1st T20I

Updated - 24 Feb 2022, 10:38 AM

Sri Lanka vs India
Sri Lanka vs India (Image Credit: Twitter)

India take on Sri Lanka in a series comprising of three T20Is and two Test matches starting with the first T20I in Lucknow. The India vs Sri Lanka T20I series will be a continuation of the preparation for both teams for the T20 World Cup. The Test series will be a part of the ongoing ICC World Test Championship 2021-23. The second test in Bangaluru starting from March 12 will be a day-night Test match which will also close out the series.

India vs Sri Lanka Preview- Sri Lanka Tour of India 2022 1st T20I


India Cricket Team
India Cricket Team. Credits: BCCI

India head into the T20I series as the top-ranked team in the format after clean sweeping West Indies in their last T20I series. Rohit Sharma became the first Indian captain to whitewash an opposition across formats. The Indian team also went past 100 T20I wins in the series. A new-look squad has been selected for the India vs Sri Lanka T20I series.

Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant and Shardul Thakur have been rested for the three-match series. Ravindra Jadeja has recovered from his injury and has made a return to the side. Sanju Samson has been given another opportunity to prove himself at this level. However, last-minute injuries to Surykumar Yadav and Deepak Chahar have ruled both of them out of the series.

Full Squad

Rohit Sharma (c), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan (wk), Shreyas Iyer, Venkatesh Iyer, Deepak Hooda, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Md Siraj, Sanju Samson (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Avesh Khan

Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka T20 Squad vs India
Sri Lanka T20 Squad vs India. Image Credits: Twitter

Sri Lanka lost their previous T20I series 4-1 heading into this series against India. The Lankans are ninth in the T20I rankings below Afghanistan. They have concerns with the forms of various players and the side is staring at another T20I series defeat against a formidable Indian team.

Avishka Fernando and Bhanuka Rajapaksha both of whom performed when India travelled to Sri Lanka last year have been ruled out of the series due to injury concerns. Wanindu Hasaranga will be the players the Lankan will expect a lot from as well as their skipper Dasun Shanaka who was responsible for the side winning the final T20I against Australia and avoiding a whitewash.

Full Squad

Dasun Shanaka (c), Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis, Charith Asalanka, Dinesh Chandimal, Danushka Gunathilaka, Kamil Mishara, Janith Liyanage, Chamika Karunaratne, Dushmantha Chameera, Lahiru Kumara, Binura Fernando, Shiran Fernando, Maheesh Theekshana, Jeffrey Vandersay, Praveen Jayawickrama, Ashian Daniel – (Subjected to Ministerial approval)

Also Read: IND vs SL: 3 Deserving Indian Players Who Missed Out On A Spot In The T20I Side


IND vs SL 2022 India National Cricket Team India vs Sri Lanka 2022 Sri Lanka national cricket team Sri Lanka tour of India 2022