BBL 2021-22: Revised Schedule Announced To Combat COVID-19 Outbreak

BBL 2022-23, Big Bash League 2022-23
Photo Credit: (Getty Images)

The Big Bash League (BBL) has undergone changes in its schedule after a recent Covid outbreak in the various team camps. The teams will be relocating to Victoria with the new team bases to be set up in Melbourne. Seven out of 11 games between January 10-16 will be played in Victoria as well. 

In a statement, it was further confirmed that some games will be played in other states including Sydney which will host the game between Sixers and Thunder on January 15. Brisbane is also scheduled to host a game between the Heat and Adelaide Strikers at the Gabba on January 12. The teams will fly out in chartered planes after these respective games. 

“The past week has thrown many COVID-related challenges the Big Bash’s way, but throughout we have remained steadfast in our resolve to safely and successfully complete the season. These changes are designed to help the League and Clubs deliver on this, while also reducing risks to players, support staff and the matches themselves. Having our players based in one state provides significantly greater flexibility to manage any further impacts of COVID-19,” BBL General Manager Alistair Dobson was quoted as saying on 

With the recent COVID outbreak, the player’s health safety and security are the top priority of Cricket Australia and the BBL organisers. Earlier this week, several players from Brisbane Heat were affected by the deadly virus forcing them to play with a second-string side against Melbourne Renegades.

BBL 2021: Brisbane Heat
Photo Credit: (Twitter/BBL)

Below is the revised schedule of the BBL 2021-22 season. The final is set to be played on January 28.

BBL 2021-22: Revised Schedule

January 8: Melbourne Renegades vs Sydney Thunder, Marvel Stadium, 6:05 PM

Brisbane Heat vs Hobart Hurricanes, The Gabba, 8:30 PM

January 9: Sydney Sixers vs Perth Scorchers, Coffs International Stadium, 7:15 PM

January 10: Hobart Hurricanes vs Sydney Thunder, MCG, 2:10 PM

Melbourne Stars vs Adelaide Strikers, MCG, 7:15 PM

January 11: Perth Scorchers vs Melbourne Stars, GMHBA Stadium, 2:10 PM

Melbourne Renegades vs Sydney Sixers, GMHBA Stadium, 7:15 PM

January 12: Brisbane Heat vs Adelaide Strikers, The Gabba, 7:15 PM

January 13: Sydney Thunder vs Hobart Hurricanes, Marvel Stadium, 3:45 PM

Melbourne Renegades vs Melbourne Stars, Marvel Stadium, 7:15 PM

January 14: Adelaide Strikers vs Perth Scorchers, Adelaide Oval, 10:40 AM

January 15: Adelaide Strikers vs Melbourne Stars, Adelaide Oval, 10:40 AM

Sydney Sixers vs Sydney Thunder, SCG, 6:40 PM

January 16: Melbourne Stars vs Brisbane Heat, MCG, 7:15 PM

Also Read: Ashes 2021-22: Despite Century At SCG, Usman Khawaja May Not Play The Hobart Test, Feels Ricky Ponting

Related Posts