3 Best Indian Players In Tests In 2022

Updated - 30 Dec 2022, 11:39 PM

Shreyas Iyer & Rishabh Pant
Shreyas Iyer & Rishabh Pant. Pic Credits: Twitter

Team India carried on their quest to reach the finals of the World Test Championship from the start of 2022. They started the year with two back-to-back losses against South Africa but ended the year with back-to-back wins against Bangladesh to stay very much alive in the ongoing edition.

Virat Kohli stepped down as India’s Test captain after winning the first Test in Centurion. India lost the next two Test matches under KL Rahul in Johannesburg and Cape Town. The Test series started with the first Test on Boxing Day (December 26).

IPL 2023 | Sri Lanka tour of India 2023 | Dream11 Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket Match Prediction Today | Cricket News | Cricket Live Score | New Zealand tour of India 2023 | Australia tour of India 2023

Rohit Sharma Virat Kohli
Rohit Sharma Virat Kohli. Image Credits: BCCI

India then beat Sri Lanka 2-0 in a Test series in February 2022. They then played the rescheduled fifth Test against England and lost the match that allowed England to level the Test series 2-2.

At the fag end of the year, India played against Bangladesh in a historic two-match Test series and won it 2-2. The Men in Blue will now play Australia in a four-match Test series at home which will be their final assignment before the WTC final. The Test series will also mark an end to the WTC 2021-23 cycle. Meanwhile, in this article, we take a look at the three best Indian players in Tests in 2022.

IPL 2023 | IND vs SL 2023 | India vs Sri Lanka 2023 | India National Cricket Team | IND vs NZ 2023 | India vs New Zealand 2023 | IND vs AUS 2023 | India vs Australia 2023

3 Best Indian Players In Tests In 2022

Rishabh Pant – (680 Runs In 7 Tests Avg-61.82, SR-90.91)

Rishabh Pant (PC-Getty Images)
Rishabh Pant (PC-Getty Images)

Pant ended 2022 s India’s top-scorer in Test cricket. He ended the year with 680 runs from just seven Test matches. This included two centuries and as many as four fifties. pant scored 146 in the rescheduled fifth Test against England.

He also scored an unbeaten 100 in the third Test against South Africa in Cape Town. Both those knocks, unfortunately, came in a losing cause. He scored another brilliant 93 in the second Test against Bangladesh in Dhaka which became decisive in India winning the Test match.

Shreyas Iyer – (422 Runs In 5 Tests Avg-60.29, SR-68.84)

Ravichandran Ashwin and Shreyas Iyer
Ravichandran Ashwin and Shreyas Iyer (Image Credits: Twitter)

2022 was Shreyas Iyer’s year. He scored over 700 runs in ODI cricket and over 400 runs each in Test and T20I cricket. In the process, he has very well cemented his place in India’s ODI and T20I sides. His second year in Test cricket, 2022 shaped him up and allowed him to prove his potential.

He scored two of his four fifties this year in Tests against Bangladesh. Both came at critical times in the two matches. However, his most memorable contribution to Indian Test cricket was the 29 he scored against Bangladesh in the second innings of the second Test. The future is only bright from here on in whites for Iyer.

Ravichandran Ashwin –  (270 Runs And 20 Wickets In 6 Tests Eco-2.88, SR-62.21)

Ravuichandran Ashwin-Shreyas Iyer
Photo Credit: (Twitter/BCCI)

Ashwin picked up 20 wickets and scored 270 runs in 2022 across six Tests in 2022. He has increased his wickets tally to 449. The all-rounder scored two fifties one against Sri Lanka and one against Bangladesh. However, his most important contribution this year was the unbeaten 42 he scored in the second innings in Dhaka. He added an unbeaten 71-run stand with Iyer to take India to a memorable series win. His form will be crucial in the four-match series against Australia next year.

Also Read: Bus Driver Who Saved Rishabh Pant Lifts The Lid On Rumours Around Burglary With Rishabh Pant’s Money

Virat Kohli | Rohit Sharma | Rishabh Pant | KL Rahul | Suryakumar Yadav | Sanju Samson | Shreyas Iyer | Yuzvendra Chahal | Jasprit Bumrah


India National Cricket Team Ravichadran Ashwin Rishabh Pant Shreyas Iyer