Pakistan captain Babar Azam named ICC Men's ODI Cricketer of the Year 2022
Pakistan captain Babar Azam named ICC Men's ODI Cricketer of the Year 2022. Image: ICC

Babar Azam, the captain of Pakistan, won the ICC Men’s ODI Cricketer of the Year Award for a second consecutive year after scoring numerous match-winning runs for his squad. In 2022, Babar amassed 3 centuries and 679 runs from nine matches at an average of 84.87.

In 2022, Babar Azam produced one amazing ODI performance after another, but none was more noteworthy or superior to the stunning 114 against Australia in Lahore at the end of March.

IPL 2023 | New Zealand tour of India 2023 | Dream11 Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket Match Prediction Today | Cricket News | Cricket Live Score | Australia tour of India 2023

Babar Azam
Babar Azam (PC-AP)

In ODI cricket, Pakistan’s captain had a memorable year in 2021, but what he produced in 2022 was even better as the ultra-reliable right-hander kept up his position as the top batter on the MRF Tyres ICC Men’s ODI Player Rankings.

Since July 2021, Babar has clung tenaciously to the title and, based on recent performances, has no plans to relinquish it easily.

IPL 2023 | India National Cricket Team | IND vs NZ 2023 | India vs New Zealand 2023 | IND vs AUS 2023 | India vs Australia 2023

Babar Azam PC
Photo Credit: (Twitter)

Babar played nine ODI games in 2022, which may come as a surprise to some, but the 28-year-old made the most of them by smashing three centuries, five half-centuries, and only truly struggling with the bat once.

Babar excelled not only on an individual level but also as the captain of Pakistan, who guided the team to a perfect record of one win and no losses in the entire year.

Babar Azam put up one incredible ODI performance after another in 2022:

Babar Azam put on fantastic ODI performances after incredible ODI performances in 2022, but none was more noteworthy or as impressive as the brilliant 114 against Australia in Lahore at the end of March.

After losing the first game of the series against an always-tough Australian team, Pakistan needed to win this game more than anything. Babar came through when Pakistan needed him the most, helping his team chase down a huge total of 349 with just four wickets lost and six deliveries remaining.

Babar Azam
Babar Azam (PC-AP)

Fakhar Zaman and Imam-ul-Haq, the openers, established the groundwork for the run chase with a 118-run stand to get things started, and Babar then put on a clinic in comprehensive run chasing.

When his team required 231 from 187 balls and walked out to bat, Babar nearly won the game for his team with an outstanding exhibition of shot-making.
He reached his century in just 73 balls, which was a record for him in ODI cricket, and remained in the game till the 45th over with the winning score in reach.

Also Read: IND vs NZ: “Shardul Thakur Will Be A Part Of India’s World Cup Squad As One Of The Seamers” – Irfan Pathan

Virat Kohli | Rohit Sharma | Rishabh Pant | KL Rahul | Suryakumar Yadav | Sanju Samson | Shreyas Iyer | Yuzvendra Chahal | Jasprit Bumrah