England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) (Photo- Twitter)
England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) (Photo- Twitter)

The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) intends to entice the all-format players for the national side to participate in the 2023 iteration of The Hundred by providing incentives.

To get ready for the home series against South Africa, several fringe players, including Jonny Bairstow and Ben Stokes, withdrew from the competition last year. The Trent Rockets won the season, which may have suffered from the absence of seasoned players.

IPL 2023 | New Zealand tour of India 2023 | Dream11 Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket Match Prediction Today | Cricket News | Cricket Live Score | Australia tour of India 2023

Jonny Bairstow
Jonny Bairstow (Image Credit: Twitter)

A total of £50,000 was offered to England’s centrally contracted all-format players for three matches, plus an extra £5,000 for each match played after that.

ESPN Cricinfo said that the ECB is now giving the players £125,000 to participate in the entire 2023 season or pro rata if they are unavailable for part of the season.

IPL 2023 | India National Cricket Team | IND vs NZ 2023 | India vs New Zealand 2023 | IND vs AUS 2023 | India vs Australia 2023

The Hundred
The Hundred (Image Credit: Getty)

The Hundred 2023 will take hold for the first time in an uninterrupted timeframe during August. The competition will start just after the fifth Ashes Test concludes on July 31. Players who appeared in the series finale thus might not be accessible during the first week of the competition.

In addition, England has an upcoming international matchup against New Zealand and Ireland that acts as practice for the ODI World Cup in India in October-November 2023.

A hundred franchises will be able to keep an all-format ECB player:

If the team and the “all-format” contractual player can agree, the franchise may decide to keep the player in addition to the other 10 players who were on the team for the 2022 season.

Jofra Archer
Jofra Archer (Image Credit: Twitter)

Jofra Archer (Southern Brave), Bairstow (Welsh Fire), Jos Buttler (Manchester Originals), Sam Curran (Oval Invincibles), Joe Root (Trent Rockets), Stokes (Northern Superchargers), Chris Woakes (Birmingham Phoenix), and Mark Wood (London Spirit) are the prevailing set of players who have a contract with a franchise in The Hundred as well as an all-format central contract with the England national team.

Franchises in The Hundred will have until February 14 to make their selections for retention once the window opens on January 11.

Also Read: BCCI All Set To Allow 5 Overseas Players In The Inaugural Women’s IPL

Virat Kohli | Rohit Sharma | Rishabh Pant | KL Rahul | Suryakumar Yadav | Sanju Samson | Shreyas Iyer | Yuzvendra Chahal | Jasprit Bumrah