Bangladesh, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, India, ACB, BCB, BCCI,
Dehradun has been named as the second home venue for the Afghanistan Cricket team in India by BCCI.

In recent developments from Afghan cricket, India is most likely to host a bilateral series between Afghanistan and Bangladesh in June later this year. The Tigers have played only one series against

Want to be a professional cricketer?
Register Now

*T&C Apply

The Afghan cricket is now gradually becoming a strong force to reckon with world cricket.

Initially, the series was scheduled to be hosted by Bangladesh in the United Arab Emirates (UAE).

Moreover, the Afghanistan Cricket Board was unable to set terms with the concerned authorities in the UAE to allow venues for the 50-over matches against the Asian giants.

Mohammad Shahzad
Afghanistan’s Mohammad Shahzad. Image Courtesy: Getty Images

Earlier, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) also assisted the Afghanistan board to host their matches at Greater Noida for the Intercontinental Cup. This time again, the Indian board came to the rescue as it is decided that Dehradun would host Afghanistan and Bangladesh for three ODIs and two T20Is.

That said, the final decision by the two boards is still pending and if everything falls into place, the series would commence on June 1.

The Chairman of the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) Operations Committee, Akram Khan confirmed that discussions are still in progress.

Afghanistan Cricket Board Dehradun BCCI
Dehradun has been named as the second home venue for the Afghanistan Cricket team in India by BCCI. PC: GI.

Security concerns at Afghanistan are proving to be the obstacle for Afghanistan cricket team to host their match at home. During the inaugural edition of Afghanistan’s T20 league, also known as Shpageeza Cricket League, a suicide bomber killed a couple of security guards and many civilians in the vicinity of the blast outside the Kabul Stadium.

The last time Afghanistan toured Bangladesh was back in 2016 for a three-match ODI series. The Bangladeshi Tigers won the series by a margin of 2-1.

Here’s the newsfeed:

IPL 2018: I am happy to start new innings- Lasith Malinga

IPL 2018: Coming back to CSK is something special – Murali Vijay