India Skipper Virat Kohli Named CEAT International Cricketer of the Year

Published - 29 May 2018, 02:26 PM

Virat Kohli
Image Courtesy: Getty Images

India batting stalwart, Virat Kohli on Monday (May 28), added yet another trophy to his already impressive trophy cabinet after being named the International Cricketer of the Year Award at the CEAT Cricket Ratings awards.

Virat Kohli, who is currently nursing a neck injury, could not attend the award ceremony. Virat’s teammate Rohit Sharma received the award on his behalf.

Kohli’s unprecedented consistency with the bat has left everyone gasping for breath. In just 208 ODIs, the India star has scored a staggering 38 centuries.

He finished 2017 with 2,818 runs across formats, the most by any Indian cricketer and third-most by any batsman in a calendar year.

(Credits: BCCI)

His unbelievable exploits with the bat helped him clinch the prestigious Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy after being adjudged the ICC Cricketer of the Year. He was also named the captain of ICC ODI and Test teams.

In the qualification period from September 21, 2016, to the end of 2017, Kohli scored 2,203 Test runs at an average of 77.80 including six double-centuries, 1,818 ODI runs at 82.63 including seven hundreds, and 299 T20I runs at a strike-rate of 153. Kohli was also named the ODI cricketer of the year.

The right-hander has started 2018 on a similar note. During the tour of South Africa, Virat amassed 871 runs across formats. He was the leading run-scorer in the Tests, and ODIs.

Credits: BCCI

Meanwhile, Shikhar Dhawan received the award for the International Batsman of the Year Award. The International Bowler of the Year award went to New Zealand pacer Trent Boult.

On the other hand, Afghanistan’s leg-spinner Rashid Khan, who impressed everyone with his skills in the recently concluded Indian Premier League (IPL) grabbing 21 wickets, was presented with the T20 Bowler of the Year Award.

New Zealand’s swashbuckling opening batsman, Colin Munro won the T20 Batsman of the Year Award. Indian woman cricketer, Harmanpreet Kaur won the Outstanding Innings of the Year Award.

Kaur had single-handedly taken the team to the finals of the ICC Women’s World Cup 2017 with her breath-taking knock of 171 not out against Australia in the semi-final.

Credits: Getty

Mayank Agarwal won the Domestic Player of the Year Award after scoring over 1,000 runs in the Ranji Trophy. Eighteen-year-old, Shubman Gill bagged the U19 Player of the Year award.

On the other hand, Chris Gayle won the Popular Choice Award. Former India wicketkeeper, Farokh Engineer received the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Awards: CEAT International Cricketer of the Year Virat Kohli

International Batsman of the Year – Shikhar Dhawan

International Bowler of the Year – Trent Boult

T20 Bowler of the Year – Rashid Khan

T20 Batsman of the Year – Colin Munro

Outstanding Innings of the Year – Harmanpreet Kaur

Domestic Player of The Year – Mayank Agarwal

U 19 Player of The Year – Shubman Gill

Popular Choice Award – Chris Gayle

Lifetime Achievement Award – Farokh Engineer.