IPL 2018: Final, Chennai Super Kings vs Sunrisers Hyderabad – Statistical Highlights
Credits: BCCI

Chennai Super Kings capped off their comeback style in the best possible manner by winning the title. The Super Kings thrashed Sunrisers Hyderabad by 8 wickets to lift the title.  MS Dhoni won the toss and invited the Sunrisers to bat first on a good batting track at the Wankhede Stadium.

The Sunrisers went on to post a challenging 178 for 6 in the allotted 20 overs.  Kane Williamson top-scored for the Sunrisers, scoring 47 while Yusuf Pathan and Carlos Brathwaite also made useful contributions.

Chennai Super Kings
Credits: BCCI

In reply, the Super Kings reached home in the 19th over with utmost ease. Shane Watson was the star of the show, playing an unbeaten knock of 117 runs.

With the game now done and dusted, here is a look at some interesting numbers and stats:

1. This was the fourth meeting between Super Kings and Sunrisers this season and the MS Dhoni-led ended on the winning side in every occasion. This was the first time a team defeated an opponent on four instances in an IPL edition.

Qualifier 1st
Credit: BCCI/IPL.

2. The Super Kings became the second team after Mumbai Indians to win the IPL thrice. No team has won the league more than three times.

3. Dhoni became the second captain after Rohit Sharma to win three IPL titles. Gautam Gambhir is the only other captain to win the tournament more than once.

4. Ambati Rayudu became the second player to feature in as many as four winning finals in the IPL. He was part of three final wins with Mumbai Indians. Rohit Sharma was the first to be part of four IPL final wins.

5. The Super Kings equalled Mumbai Indians’ tally of three IPL wins and overall five final victories in the Twenty20 format. Only Sialkot Stallions (8) have won more than five T20 tournament finals. They also equalled Sialkot’s nine appearances in the T20 finals.

6. Dwayne Bravo now has been a part of 11 wins in the T20 finals. He is second in this list which is led by Kieron Pollard. Among Indians, Suresh Raina equalled Rohit Sharma’s eight appearances in T20 final wins. MS Dhoni and Ambati Rayudu have been involved in eight final victories in the T20s.

7. Shane Watson’s century in this game is his fourth in the IPL and the second in this season. Chris Gayle (6) and Virat Kohli (4) are the other players to score as many as four centuries in the IPL.

Shane Watson Ranveer Singh
Credits: BCCI

8. Watson’s 117-run knock is the highest individual score in an IPL final surpassing Wriddhiman Saha’s 115* for Kings XI Punjab against Kolkata Knight Riders in 2014.

An avid cricket lover, I just love this game more than anything. Writing about cricket keeps me closer to the game.