Shubman Gill celebrates his fifty. . Photo by: Luke Walker /SPORTZPICS for BCCI
Prev1 of 13

The IPL is undoubtedly a breeding ground for youngsters to express themselves freely and without any regrets. Every year the franchises pick young players, who perform well in domestic cricket and who seem ready to take their game to the next level by rubbing shoulders with stalwarts and facing against the best players.

Over the years, several youngsters have performed well in their inaugural season of IPL, showcasing the mettle to survive the rigours of international cricket. The cash-rich league is a platform from which the Indian selectors are also taking note and whatever the stakes might be, they display the maturity to remain in their radar.

We take a look at the winners of IPL Emerging Player Awards since its inception:

Shreevats Goswami – 2008:

IPL (2008-2020): List Of All Emerging Player Of The Year Award Winners
Shreevats Goswami. BCCI

Keeper-batsman Shreevats Goswami was part of Royal Challengers Bangalore in 2008 and before that was in India’s U-19 squad that lifted the trophy that year. He had a mediocre tournament in 2008, managing 82 runs in four innings with one fifty and a strike rate of 96.47.

However, Goswami showcased plenty of promise in his outings. Despite all the flashy displays, he fell away on the radar as he missed plenty of IPL seasons in between and never played for India. Shreevats Goswami is currently with the SunRisers Hyderabad and played two matches in IPL 2020 without opening his account with the bat.

Prev1 of 13