T20 World Cup 2021: Watch - Indian Players Take The 'Squid Game' Challenge
T20 World Cup 2021: Watch - Indian Players Take The 'Squid Game' Challenge

Last Update on: October 21st, 2021 at 07:40 pm

Ahead of the Super 12 stage of the T20 World Cup, the Indian players in the UAE participated in the ‘Squid Game’ challenge in a video uploaded by the ICC.

The cricketers took up the Dalgona Candy challenge drawn from Netflix blockbuster ‘Squid Game’, a South Korean drama which has taken the social world by storm with its growing interest.

In this particular game, the players are required to carve out shapes drawn in the candies without breaking them. In the show, participants who fail to do so within the stipulated time or break the candy are killed.

T20 World Cup 2021: BCCI Unveils Team India's Jersey For The Upcoming World Cup
Indian cricket team. (Photo: Twitter)

The game has gone viral on social media, and the Men In Blue weren’t to be left behind.

“India put to the test in nerve-wracking game. Indian Cricket Indian Cricket Team stars are put to the test with a game made famous by one of the world’s most talked about shows,” ICC captioned the video on Instagram. 

Only vice-captain Rohit Sharma and pacer Mohammed Shami were successful in correctly carving out the candy shape, while Jasprit Bumrah, Varun Chakaravarthy, KL Rahul, and Suryakumar Yadav failed in the challenge.

Watch – Indian Players Take The ‘Squid Game’ Challenge

India win both their warm-up matches; set to take on Pakistan

India will enter the Super 12 stage with confidence having registered a couple of clinical victories in the warm-up matches. Blazing half-centuries from KL Rahul (51 off 24) and Ishan Kishan (70 off 46) against England helped India gun down the target of 189.

Rohit Sharma (60 off 41) and R Ashwin (2/8 in 2 overs) starred in the win over Australia. Hardik Pandya, Rishabh Pant, and Suryakumar Yadav also displayed their return to form with attractive cameos.

KL Rahul
KL Rahul. (Image: Twitter)

India will take on Pakistan in their opening encounter on October 24 in Dubai. They will then meet New Zealand, Afghanistan, and two other teams who will qualify from Round 1 in the Super 12 stage.

India 15-man squad: Virat Kohli (c), Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Rahul Chahar, Ravichandran Ashwin, Shardul Thakur, Varun Chakravarthy, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami.

Reserves: Shreyas Iyer, Deepak Chahar, Axar Patel

Also Read: T20 World Cup 2021: Watch – Steve Smith Mimics Virat Kohli’s Bowling Action During Warm-Up Match