IPL 2020: Virat Kohli On The Verge Of Joining Three Captains In Elite List

IPL 2020: Virat Kohli On The Verge Of Joining Three Captains In Elite List

IPL 2019 | Virat Kohli |
Virat Kohli. Credit: IPL

Virat Kohli will return to top-level cricket on Monday as the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) to take on SunRisers Hyderabad in what would be both sides’ opening game in Dubai. Virat Kohli would be looking forward to ecstatically setting things as they eye their first IPL trophy. The skipper is also on the verge of joining an elite list.

Also Read: Deepak Chahar Concedes That MS Dhoni Prefers Players Who Are All-Round Cricketers

The victory in the first game will not only give RCB the much-needed confidence in the competitive tournament but also would be Virat Kohli’s 50th victory as captain. If Kohli reaches the landmark, he will join the likes of MS Dhoni, who has 101 wins and leads the list while the other two are Gautam Gambhir with 71 and Rohit Sharma with 61. All these captains have minimum 50 IPL wins as captains under their belt.

MS Dhoni
MS Dhoni (Credits: Twitter)

The RCB franchise have roped in candidates like Chris Morris, Aaron Finch, Isuru Udana, and Josh Philippe ahead of the upcoming edition to plug various holes in their line-up. They also triggered an overhaul of their coaching staff by appointing Simon Katich as their head coach and Mike Hesson as the director of cricket operations.

Virat Kohli on the cusp of reaching more landmarks:

Virat Kohli [Photo-IPLT20]
The 31-year old is also 20 runs shy of eclipsing Shane Watson to become the leading run-getter against SunRisers Hyderabad. He also requires ten more maximums to reach 200 sixes in IPL. In doing so, Kohli will join yet another elite list of batsmen with more than 200 sixes.

Chris Gayle tops the chart with 326 under his belt followed by MS Dhoni and AB De Villiers with 212 and 209 respectively. Hyderabad holds the upper hand against Bangalore, winning eight out of the 15 matches taken place between them. It also includes the final of the 2016 edition where SunRisers emerged triumphant by eight runs, sealing their first title.

Also Read: IPL 2020: Kings XI Punjab Officially Lodge An Appeal To The Match Referee Over The ‘Short Run’ Controversy