Watch: Rohit Sharma Takes A Nasty Jibe At The On-Field Umpire, Risks Getting Fined

Watch: Rohit Sharma Takes A Nasty Jibe At The On-Field Umpire, Risks Getting Fined

Watch: Rohit Sharma Takes A Nasty Jibe At The On-Field Umpire, Risks Getting Fined
Watch: Rohit Sharma Takes A Nasty Jibe At The On-Field Umpire, Risks Getting Fined

Mumbai Indians (MI) captain Rohit Sharma may get fined for showing dissent against the umpire, after he was given out caught behind in his team’s latest match against Punjab Kings (PBKS) played at Chennai’s MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai.

Punjab Kings captain KL Rahul won the toss and chose to bowl first on the Chepauk pitch. Mumbai Indians came into the match unchanged, while PBKS brought in Ravi Bishnoi in place of Murugan Ashwin.

Watch: Rohit Sharma Takes A Nasty Jibe At The On-Field Umpire, Risks Getting Fined
Rohit Sharma and Suryakumar Yadav. (Credits: Twitter)

MI didn’t have the best start to their innings, with out of form Quinton de Kock fell for 3 runs, caught by Moises Henriques off Deepak Hooda and then Ishan Kishan followed caught by KL Rahul off Ravi Bishnoi for 6.

Ishan Kishan, Ravi Bishnoi
Ravi Bishnoi [Image-IPL20]
Rohit Sharma (63) hit 5 fours and 2 sixes in his innings and got little support from others, with Suryakumar Yadav hitting 33 with 3 fours and 1 six and Kieron Pollard making 16* runs. Mohammed Shami (2/21) and Ravi Bishnoi (2/21) were the picks of bowlers for Punjab Kings, as MI ended their 20 overs for 131/6, a certainly below par score for the wicket.

Rohit Sharma Shows Dissent Against Umpire C Shamshuddin; Risks Getting Fined For Breaking IPL Code Of Conduct  

However, while MI struggled to get runs on the board, Rohit Sharma, the skipper was visibly flustered and irritated during his knock. In an incident, he was seen taking a jibe at the on-field umpire C Shamshuddin after he was given out caught behind by him.

Rohit was given caught down the leg-side in the first over of the innings and quickly reviewed. After he did so, he gestured towards the umpire while saying something, apparently upset at the decision.

Watch: Rohit Sharma Takes A Nasty Jibe At The On-Field Umpire, Risks Getting Fined
Rohit Sharma dismissed for a 52-ball 63 [Image-IPLT20]
Rohit straightaway reviewed the decision and UltraEdge showed no evidence of him hitting the ball, he might attract the wrath of the match referee for his reaction as Article 2.8 of the IPL Code of Conduct deals with “dissent at an umpire’s decision”.

“It shall not be a defence to any charge brought under this article to show that the umpire might have, or in fact did, get any decision wrong,” the section notes.

If charged, Rohit could be guilty of a level one or two offense, though it would likely be the former. This would bring a fine of up to 50 percent of his match fee, while another such charge could see him face a ban.

He has already been fined once for slow over-rate and was docked Rs 12 lakhs of his match fees.

Here is the video:

Also Read: The Hundred: ECB Abandons Plans To Replace ‘Wickets’ With ‘Outs’ After Facing Backlash